Chicken ala King

While I fell in love with baking at age 10, I did not like cooking until after I finished high school.  Maybe it had something to do with the saying that there cannot be two queens in a castle.  My mother had strict rules in the kitchen – the proper way to slice onions, tomatoes and everything else.  I was more carefree – after all, I was not racing to be the best chef!

My love for cooking began with a special dish – Chicken ala King!

chicken king 1

I learned the recipe from a crash course my mother forced upon me after my high school graduation.  My siblings love it so much that I made it every week!

CHICKEN ALA KING RECIPE –

2-3 chicken breasts
1 small onion
1 small tomato
1 small thumb of ginger

coarsely chopped garlic and onions
1 large potato, diced
1 medium carrot, diced
1 cup sliced mushrooms (fresh variety preferred)
1/4 cup frozen green peas
pimiento (canned variety), diced
1 cup all purpose cream
salt and pepper to taste
dash nutmeg

Boil the chicken breasts with ginger, onion and tomato.  Debone chicken and dice. Strain the broth and set aside.

Saute the onion and garlic. Add the diced chicken, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, peas, and pimiento. Add the reserved broth, just enough to cover all ingredients. Simmer until vegetables are done. Pour in the cream and heat through, stirring constantly. Do not boil. Season to taste. Thicken with cornstarch water. Sprinkle a dash of nutmeg (a little goes a long way!) Serve in patty shells (I buy the patty shells from French Baker)

I have not stopped cooking since then!

 

Comments are closed.