Ham and Cheese Rolls

This is a special request from the little girl.  She wanted a ham and cheese “stick”.  So I remade an old recipe.  The original version was the Ham and Cheese Roll-Ups.

ham cheese roll ups

The original roll-ups were an appetizer that I saw at a function that we attended some time ago.  I made my own version sometime ago and now I am re-working it.

The recipe for the original roll-ups –

Take a piece of sandwich bread and cut the crusts off.  Then flatten the bread (this is a very important step, will explain later).  Smear mayo or butter on the flattened, crustless bread.  Then place a piece of cooked ham and a cheese slice (square slices are best) on the bread.  Roll the whole thing up and secure with fancy picks.  Slice into 3 or 4 mini-rolls.

At this point I have to stress that it is crucial to flatten the bread.  I discovered (the hard, experimental way) that if this step is missed, the whole thing crumbles and breaks – the resulting rolls are just plain ugly.

The reworked version starts with flattening the bread too.  A ham slice, roughly 2/3 of the bread is placed on the bread, makeing sure that three sides of the bread and ham are aligned.  Place a stick of cheese on the ham, aligning the long edge.  Then roll, beginning on the cheese/ham side.  I found that I didn’t need to secure  the rolls with picks.

ham cheese 1

The rolls were supposed to be toasted in the oven but I was lazy (the toaster oven was out of commission and it was too much trouble to fire up the big oven) so I just used the stovetop grill.

Well, the little girl was happy!  So were our guests!

Comments are closed.