“The Last Word on a Consuming Passion”

I was eleven, and halfway across the world, when I saw Marcel Desaulniers on cable TV (I don’t even remember what program it was!)!  I was so utterly fascinated by him that I went on the subway (by myself!) and bought 2 of his books, one of which was Death by Chocolate: The Last Word on a Consuming Passion.

00_book

When I lost my entire library to Ondoy, I realized that this was one of the books I had to get another copy of, otherwise, I would forever regret it.  Thank goodness my brother was able to find a previously loved copy for me!

It’s been some years since Typhoon Ondoy and I have been baking in a frenzy.  But with such a long list to finish, it was only recently that I (finally) made a batch of the Chocolate Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies that is in the first few pages of the book.

And it is THE most delicious cookie I have ever tasted!!!

I swear!  I ate 2 giant cookies… with cold milk!  In one sitting!

(and I don’t even like chocolate!!!! or milk!!!)

And the little girl?  She looked at me with so much admiration and said:  Mommy, you make everything so delicious!

Now I know why the book is called Death by Chocolate!

One of these days, when I have enough courage (and time!) I will attempt to create his Death by Chocolate!  Recipe with rum sauce here.

🙂

Comments are closed.