Mixed Berry-Vanilla-Boubon Jam

Low sugar, too!

All thanks to a good friend who gave me packets of pectin.  This is my first experiment!

00_jam2

I used to make jam without pectin, simply because I didn’t know where to get pectin.  We certainly don’t have it in supermarkets!  The texture was not quite right and I could never make a large batch because I feared it wouldn’t last long (I didn’t know how to preserve it either).

But following the instructions on the packet (thanks for the translation, T!), it couldn’t be any easier!  Of course I gave it my own peculiar twist and added a couple more ingredients.

1 kilogram of mixed berries – strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries
300 grams vanilla sugar
2 vanilla pods
2 tablespoons bourbon
1 packet pectin

Roughly chop the berries.  Add the bourbon and toss; set aside.  Scrape the vanilla seeds from the pods and mix into the sugar with the pectin.

Meanwhile, sterilize 6 180-ml jam jars.

Stir the berries and sugar together and place into a pot.  The berry-sugar mix should only half-fill the pot.

Bring the pot to a slow boil and simmer for about 5 minutes.

Spoon or pour the berry mixture into the sterilized jam jars and seal immediately.  Turn the jars upside down.  Cool at room temperature.

00_jam3_Fotor

We definitely could not finish all of the jam on our own so we gave 5 bottles away to family and friends!  And as I had some free time, I made labels for the jam!

 

Comments are closed.