Tunnel of Ube Bundt Cake

The short version of this cake is easy – buy a pound cake mix, follow the instructions on the box and place half of the batter in a buttered and floured bundt pan.  Spoon store-bought ube halaya in the middle to form the tunnel, then put in the rest of the batter!  Bake then eat!

Tunnel of Ube Bundt Cake
Tunnel of Ube Bundt Cake

The way I did mine though… was not the easy way…

It was a case of killing a few birds with one stone!

The main goal was to come up with a cake for a celebration – a cake that had no icing (many were watching their sugar level) but still delicious and beautiful to stand on its own… AND, it had incorporate the celebrants’ favorite flavor – UBE!

A cake that was pretty enough and impressive enough to stand on its own, without icing, obviously meant a bundt cake!  Incorporating the ube, however, presented a bit of problem…

Thing is, while there’s lemon, orange, chocolate, butter, cream cheese pound cake recipes, I hadn’t heard of an ube pound cake before and I really didn’t have time to experiment.  Plus, I had been wanting to try out a cream cheese pound cake recipe so I thought this would be a good time to try it… so I concluded that I had to add the ube flavor in a different way.

The solution came by way of a picture I saw in a cookbook – a chiffon cake that had a “ribbon” of chocolate running through the middle.  So I thought, why not place the ube in the middle of the pound cake?  Like a tunnel instead of a ribbon… and boom!

00_ube-macapuno1

So that’s what happened.  I used the Cream Cheese Pound Cake recipe from joyofbaking.com.  Then put in the tunnel of ube (my favorite homemade one!) and baked it!  As a final touch, I spooned macapuno (sweetened coconut sport) in the middle.

Happy Birthday!
Happy Birthday!

It was a great hit!  Their only complaint?  They wanted more macapuno!

 

 

Comments are closed.