Rotisserie Chicken

Rotisserie chickens from the grocery store or the neighborhood “iwahan” (grillers) are life-savers! Whenever I am pressed for time (or feeling lazy), I just buy a rotisserie chicken and serve that for lunch or dinner. Extra bonus that leftovers (rare as they may be) can easily be transformed into other dishes!

I have long wanted to try and make my own rotisserie chicken. But for me to do that, I needed a rotisserie! And I didn’t have one because it was bit too much to buy a rotisserie for that specific purpose, and it would take too much space in the kitchen.

So I would roast the chicken in my big gas oven… and I would worry about the gas consumption!!! and truth be told, the oven is way too big for a single chicken cooking inside (the oven can actually fit a small piglet for lechon!)

Fast forward to the present when our microwave exploded (yes, it kinda did when it sparked, put out a soft “boom” and died). We don’t really need a microwave (we only got one when we were displaced by Ondoy and lived elsewhere) so I thought of getting a small electric oven instead. But even then I never got around to buying one although I went around looking.

Until I found a small electric oven that had a rotisserie and grill function… and a very reasonable price!

Guess what the first thing I did after getting the oven?

Yep, I went out and bought a whole chicken!  And as my mother taught me, smaller chickens are more tender and flavorful.  So I never bought a whole chicken that weighed more than 1.2 kilograms!  Besides there’s just 4 of us plus a little kid who does not like eating… so a small-ish chicken is good enough for us.

As for the marinade, I found several in my mother’s recipe files… here is the first one I tried:

1 whole chicken, about 1.2 kilograms, rinsed, cleaned and patted dried

1 cup Sprite (or 7-Up)
1/4 cup sweet chili sauce (optional)
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 teaspoons fresh, coarse ground black pepper
1-1/2 tablespoons sea salt (not iodized refined salt)
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder

Mix the marinade ingredients together.  Place the chicken in a ziplock bag and pour in the marinade.  Here is the secret – leave the chicken to marinate for 3 whole days!  Yes, 3 whole days!  Just flip and massage the chicken every half day or so.

Then, AFTER the 3 day-marinating period, skewer the chicken on the rotisserie rod and, if desired, tie the chicken securely (this is so the chicken stays put while the rotisserie rod goes round and round).

Roast the chicken at 240C for about 70 minutes.  Check the inner temperature of the chicken.  It should be between 75C to 77/78C.

If you like a bigger chicken, then the same marinade can be used for a chicken up to 2 kilograms, but it would be necessary to turn the chicken more often.  Roasting time is about 80 to 90 minutes.

If you don’t have a rotisserie, the chicken can be roasted in an oven.  But I have discovered that if it is to be roasted in a roasting pan in the oven, it is better to butterfly the chicken so that all of the skin is browned evenly.

Enjoy!!!!

(My next chicken project is… Inasal Chicken!!!)

 

 

 

Comments are closed.