Fruitcake!

Personally, I thought fruitcakes are just bricks.  But maybe that was because most commercial fruitcake were, well… hard… too sweet… tasted weird…

Until my mother’s fruitcake.  And even then I ate sparingly.

Just my luck that the person that’s the center of my life loves fruitcake!  And apparently, so do many others…

So this year, I have decided I will make fruitcake.  Oh, not the fruitcake that I came up with especially for hubby (that one is a bit complicated) but one that I adapted from my mother’s recipe, which was rich in glazed fruit and raisins and nuts.  My adaption consists of using considerably less glazed fruit and raisins and more mixed dried fruit, which includes dates, apricots, candied cherries, prunes, dried mango and walnut!  My mother also fed her fruitcakes brandy, but for me?  Nothing but my best rum!  (Sadly, though, I do not her permission to reveal her recipe)…

So, I have soaked my fruits for at least 2 nights, in… yep, you guessed it, rum (!) and this long weekend break, I am ready to make my fruitcake!  They will feed on rum for at least 6 weeks, after which, the lucky recipients will get their Christmas gift!

 

 

Comments are closed.