Hubby’s New Favorite Rolls

Hubby likes chewy bread (unlike me, i like the soft one… the rich, soft bread…) and he has a favorite recipe of mine (after a year of experimenting!)  But the recipe, of course, required kneading!

So it was back to the drawing board for me, to try and convert his favorite bread recipe into a no-knead one.  After a couple of weeks of experimenting, I finally got it!

But in order to have freshly baked bread by 6:15am, I had to wake up at 5!  The rolls, after being shaped, still needed to rise for another 30 to 40 minutes.  So I wondered if there was still a way to shorten the “waiting” time.  I wanted to wake up, crank up the oven, shove the shaped dough in and eat in about 30 minutes!

And, here is the best part… there is a way!!!

I was intrigued by an item in the FAQ on their website – the refrigerator rise!  Basically form the dough into buns the night before and let it rest in the refrigerator, covered with plastic wrap, overnight (8 to 14 hours).  The next morning, preheat the oven, take the formed dough out and pop in the oven as soon as the oven is hot enough!

So now I can wake up at 6 to have freshly baked rolls for breakfast by 6:30 am!

 

 

Comments are closed.