Chawan Mushi, Bastardized version

Chawan Mushi is simply a steamed egg custard, Japanese style.  It is similar to the Chinese steamed egg.

Anyway, I based my bastardized version on a recipe I found in this book:

00_chawan-book

And I say bastardized because I skipped a lot ingredients… and (oh the horror) used instant dashi to make the dashi stock!

Here is my bastardized recipe:

1 tablespoon rice wine (sake originally)
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
12 shelled prawns, cleaned
6 fresh shitake mushrooms, sliced

1 tablespoon rice wine (sake originally)
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
600 ml dashi stock
1 teaspoon salt
4 eggs

Marinate the shrimp and mushrooms in soy sauce and rice wine, for about 10 minutes. Drain and set aside.

Meanwhile, break the eggs into a bowl and stir gently (do not create bubbles). Add the rice wine, soy sauce, dashi stock and salt into the eggs.

Divide the shrimp and mushrooms into 4 heatproof bowls. Pour egg mixture over the shrimp and mushrooms. Steam, covered, over medium-low heat for 15 minutes or so. Garnish with sliced leeks.

 

 

Comments are closed.