Maple Oat Bread

Here I go again, extolling the wonders of my little electric oven! This time it is for an almost instant snack of Maple Oatmeal Rolls for the little girl who was asking for bread when she came home from school.  By the time she finished freshening up and changing clothes, the rolls were ready!

The recipe is from the book The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.  The reason why I chose the recipe is because (for some reason) I like oat bread, especially when it is sweetened!  But I always halve the recipe because the full batch takes a bit too much space in the fridge.  Also, since I did not have wheat bran, I used oat bran.

My slightly adapted, halved recipe:

1 3/8 cups lukewarm water
1/2 tablespoon instant yeast
1/2 tablespoon Kosher salt
6 tablespoons maple syrup, plus 1/2 tablespoon for brushing on the dough
2 tablespoons olive oil
6 tablespoons oat bran
3/4 cup rolled oats
350 grams bread flour

For once I did not proof the yeast before mixing everything up.  (I made the dough at 2 o’clock in the morning, when I had a sleepless night…)  I set it on the counter to let it rise for a couple of hours and promptly fell asleep on the sofa.  Woke up 4 hours later to rush the dough into the fridge!  No harm done though…

Anyway, I find it easier (and faster) to make bread rolls, so that’s what I did!  Right before baking, I brushed maple syrup on the top of the rolls and since I had some syrup still left, I brushed the remaining syrup on the newly baked bread rolls!

Yummmmmy!

 

 

Comments are closed.