Lyon Frittata

Since I found some book bugs on the shelf the other day, I’d been on a cleaning frenzy!  I haven’t finished even a third of the shelves!

Anyway, as I took books off the shelves, I browsed the pages briefly.  I had to make some hard choices and decide which books needed to stay and which ones to put in the donation box… certainly wasn’t easy!

One of the books I looked at was the Epicurious Cookbook, and the recipe I saw was for Kitchen Sink Frittata.  It got me wanting to make it for breakfast the next day.

I went online to search for the recipe to link to for this entry.  What I found instead was this –

freestyle-frittata
image lifted from Epicurious website

The first variant – Lyon – was perfect!  I had all ingredients in the fridge.  So what did hubby have this morning?  Frittata, of course!  I scaled the recipe to a quarter though.

My solo version –

1 small onion, sliced
1 small zucchini,sliced into thin rounds
1 small red pimiento pepper, diced
2 eggs
2 tablespoons milk
pinch of salt and pepper
1/4 cup mixed shredded cheese
several basil leaves, cut into strips

Sauté the onion and pimiento in a 6-1/2-inch cast iron pan.  Add the zucchini and stir fry a couple of minutes.

Meanwhile, stir the eggs, milk, salt and pepper together until thoroughly combined.  Pour into sautéed vegetables.  Stir lightly.  When the sides are set, transfer the skillet to a preheated 350*F oven.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes, until the center is cooked through.

Sprinkle finishing salt lightly on the top.  Serve hot.

Enjoy!

 

 

Comments are closed.