Raisin Bread

The little girl likes her bread soft and fluffy… so does her A-te and Lola.  So while hubby and I prefer the chewy, slightly crusty bread, I have to bake bread for the others too…

Good thing the book The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoë François, has it covered!  One of the recipes in the book is the American-style soft bread!  As always, I always halve the recipe… and this particular instance, i also added raisins and cinnamon-sugar, as an added bonus for the little girl!

I was able to find the recipe online, but I seriously urge anyone and everyone to get the book – it is well worth it!

Anyway, as far as what I did – I dumped 495 grams of bread flour, 1/2 tablespoon of instant yeast, 1 tablespoon of turbinado sugar, and 1/2 tablespoon of fine salt in a bowl.  Then I poured in 1-1/2 cups water and 1/4 cup melted butter.  After mixing well, I left it on the counter, lightly covered, for 2 hours.  Then I shoved it into the refrigerator.

The next day, I plumped up 1/3 cup of raisins by soaking them in hot water for about an hour; after which I drained them and patted them dry.  Then I made my cinnamon sugar mix with 1-1/2 tablespoons of turbinado sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon powder.

Taking roughly a third of the dough, I flattered it into a rough rectangle and sprinkled the cinnamon sugar all over and scattered the raisins.  The dough was rolled into a cylinder then coiled and placed in a 7-inch buttered aluminum round pan.  I let it rise for about an hour then baked it at 350*F for about 20 minutes.

Immediately after removing the pan from the oven, I brushed butter all over the top and since I had some cinnamon sugar left over, I sprinkled it on the bread as well!

The little girl was quite happy with her fluffy raisin bread!

 

Comments are closed.