Ensaimada!!!

Ensaimada (or ensaymada) is a Filipino sweet bread that is slathered on with butter, sugar and cheese.  It may or may not have its origins with the Spanish ensaimada (mallorca) but it has evolved to be the quintessential Filipino bread (pandesal notwithstanding).

I have been on a quest to make THE ensaimada that I like for almost 5 years!  My attempts have all been flops… until this one… and wouldn’t you know it, it’s a no-knead one!

As always, I based the recipe on one that is in the The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoë François.  But I tweaked the brioche recipe in order to make it even richer because as far as I knew, the dough for ensaimada has more egg yolks and virtually no egg whites!  (I kept a couple of whites in the recipe though).

Wonder of wonders, I not only succeeded, but it was the perfect one for me!

Yay!