Food for the Gods, take 2

I couldn’t sleep last night.  Eventually I stopped trying.  I went to the kitchen instead.  I looked at the list of recipes I (said I) wanted to try… and picked one…

Then again, I could never just follow a recipe, I always have to “personalize” it.  But to give credit where it is due, the original recipe is from Yummy.ph.  How did I “personalize” it?

Well, for starters, I did not have muscovado sugar, so I used my vanilla sugar instead (reduced too) and added molasses (omitted the vanilla extract while I was at it).  I reduced the flour (but not really by choice because I discovered, too late, that I only had about 3/4 cup of flour left in the pantry!) and since I reduced the flour, I reduced the baking powder as well.

All is well that ends well.  So far, everyone says these bars are fantastic!  I did discover, however, that it is best after being stored in an airtight container for 24 hours!

00_fftg-t2a

This is the first food for the gods bars that I baked using the small electric oven!  And it is perfect for a small batch that just enough for our household.

Comments are closed.