Baked Chicken and Potatoes

When I was young ( a long time ago! ), the turbo broiler was a popular kitchen appliance.  We often had turbo roasted chicken.  The seasoning/s we used were rather simple – rock salt, pepper, garlic and calamansi.  The problem I usually had with the turbo broiled chicken was that it was almost always a dry bird!

But, to be honest, I didn’t know if the dryness was because of the turbo broiler or human error.  In any case, the turbo broiler was never a priority in my kitchen because it seemed to me to be a heavy, bulky appliance that was only good for one thing…  And since I have my little electric oven that was a rotisserie as well, I did not really need a turbo broiler!

What I wanted was a taste of my childhood chicken sans the dryness!

Unfortunately the market was out of whole birds, so I had to settle for the drumsticks.  But I forged ahead…

There wasn’t a “real” recipe for the chicken of my childhood…. it was more of a just do this and that and pop it in the broiler thing – basically juice from several calamansi would be rubbed all over the chicken.  Then a mixture of rock salt, coarsely ground black peppercorns and minced garlic would be rubbed on the chicken and under the skin ( if there were gaps ).  The chicken would then be placed in a cellophane bag and left in the fridge for at least an overnight.

In the present case, I thought since I veered away and used chicken drumsticks, I might as well make another change, which was to put thinly sliced potatoes under the chicken… the drippings from the chicken would surely make the potatoes really tasty!!!

And it did!  The chicken was even better than I remembered as a child and the potatoes? well, let’s just say the hubby is a happy hubby!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.