Breakfast Frittata

I grew up on eggs for breakfast.  All throughout my childhood, I remember the breakfast staple – 1/2 cup of Sanka coffee, 1 soft boiled egg, pandesal or sinangag (garlic fried rice), and sometimes, sausages or hotdogs.  To this day, it is extremely rare that my breakfast (or that of hubby’s) skips the egg.  For my sweetie, however, I make an extra effort to gussy up the eggs.

The fastest and easiest way to make eggs fancy is to make a frittata.  If we happen to have leftovers, I simply use them as the filling.  Otherwise, the combination of onions, potatoes, peppers, and of course, cheese (!) do quite well!

2 xl eggs
1 egg white
2 tablespoons milk
1 medium onion, sliced
1 medium potato, cubed
1 green bell pepper, julienned
120 grams cubed cheese
salt and pepper, to taste

As always, start by sautéing the onion and peppers in a 6-1/2-inch cast iron pan.  Add the cubed potatoes and stir fry a couple of minutes.

Meanwhile, stir the eggs, milk, salt and pepper together until thoroughly combined.  Pour into sautéed vegetables.  Stir lightly.  When the sides are set, scatter the cubed cheese on top then transfer the skillet to a preheated 350*F oven.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes, until the center is cooked through.

Enjoy!

Comments are closed.