Fruit and Seed Bars

When I saw the recipe for the Fruit and Nut Bars on the Joy of Baking website, I knew I had to make it for my sweetie – he absolutely loves dried fruit. But, he dislikes nuts!

So I simply substituted a seed mix for the nuts… 

My adaptation – 

1 1/2 cups mix of sunflower seeds and pine nuts
2 1/2 cups mixed dried fruits (raisins, apricots, prunes, dates and cranberries)
1/3 cup mini chocolate chips
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 XL egg
1 teaspoon vanilla

Toss and mix the seeds and dried fruit with the chocolate chips, flour, sugar,baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

Beat the egg and vanilla together until light, fluffy and frothy.  Gently mix the seed-fruit mix and beaten egg until thoroughly mixed.  Pat into a buttered and lined 8-inch baking pan.  Bake in a preheated 325F oven for about 40 minutes.  Cool before cutting into bars.

Hubby’s verdict?  He loves it but requests next time to skip the chocolate chips!

Original recipe here

Comments are closed.