Bread Pudding

When I was little, bread pudding was a popular dessert.  I never realized that it was made from bread until I was much much older!  It was also one of those things that was made from “a feel for it”, no specific recipe to speak of.

The way I was taught to make it?  It first depends on how much bread cubes we had… basically, spread the bread cubes in a single layer in a Corningware square dish (how specific!)  For the “middle-sized” dish, it meant 2 grande eggs (XL-sized).  Now, for every egg used, we add 3/4 cup milk (no low fat milk… we used to use evaporated milk!), 2 tablespoons of melted butter, 3 to 4 tablespoons sugar, a large pinch of apple spice (or cinnamon) and a small pinch of salt.  This recipe or proportion is by no means a strict one… in fact, we always eye-balled it!

Anyway, our pudding almost always had raisins added to it.  But since I was using the dried fruit bread from the other day, I decided to add chocolate chips instead!  And while I was at it, I added 2 tablespoons of rum too!

The secret?  Leave the bread soaking in the milk mixture at least 4 hours before baking!!!

The verdict?

Everyone loved it… even my hard-to-please mother!!!

 

Comments are closed.