Whey Bread, No Knead!

I have my friend T to thank for introducing the no-knead bread to me.  While I had the book for some time already, I had not bothered to read it (it was a gift) and had been making bread by kneading.  But I was plagued with RSS which caused me much pain, so much so that my dough kneading (and yes, also my frosting piping) became greatly reduced.

But having tried the no-knead bread, I was hooked and went on to experiment a bit.  My experiments gave me my go-to recipe, a slightly modified version of the original…

I actually use half of the original formula, (it is a good idea to read/know the original formula/method first) because [1.] I cannot find a 6-liter capacity container!  not that it would fit in my fridge… and [2.], while we like bread, we are basically rice eaters, and half a recipe, which gives us a couple of (sometimes even 3) boules, actually last us a week.

What is my secret?  Whey!  I make 3 to 4 liters of yogurt every week, which I strain to make Greek-style yogurt.  I am left with (sometimes a lot of) whey.  While my younger brother drinks it (or uses it for shakes, etc.) I found that it makes bread a tad more flavorful…

My halved, adapted recipe:

1 cup warm water
1/2 cup whey
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 tablespoon instant yeast
1/2 tablespoon fine salt
3-1/3 cups flour
1 tablespoon sugar, optional

The procedure is easy – just mix everything in a 3-liter capacity container (with a loose lid, do not use airtight containers).  Cover lightly and leave to dough to rest for 2 to 3 hours.  Then put the dough in the refrigerator overnight.

The next day, sprinkle a little flour on the dough.  Grab a third or half of the dough (use scissors to cut the dough) and quickly form into a boule (check out the video)

To bake, I don’t really use a dutch oven or baking stone.  After forming the boule, I let it rest on an oiled, floured piece of parchment or greaseproof paper for 45 to 60 minutes.  About 10 minutes before time is up, I preheat my small electric oven.  And I also heat my 6-inch cast iron pan (or a 7-inch one) and grease it with canola oil.  I plop my dough CAREFULLY in the heated cast iron pan and (using scissors) make cuts or slashes on top of the dough.  I also sprinkle some flour on top (as opposed to cornmeal) before placing it into the preheated 400*F oven.

The bread bakes 15 to 20 minutes, or until the internal temp reads 200*F.

00_sunseed-boule

And it’s done!

Sometimes for variety, I would add a handful of raisins, or mixed dried fruit, or in this particular instance, a handful of sunflower seeds!

00_sunseed-boule-2

It is absolutely great slathered with butter, jam, cream cheese, or a dried fruit-honey spread!

 

Comments are closed.