Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

The little girl had a friend over for playtime one afternoon.  Mid-afternoon, she runs to the kitchen and whispers to me –

“Mommy! You forgot to make us a snack!”

I didn’t forget.  I had planned to serve some store-bought cookies and juice.

The kid objected.  Vehemently.

She wanted a snack that I made… cooked… or baked…

Sigh.

Ok.

I thought… pancakes… those are fast…

But in the midst of preparing the pancakes, I saw a couple of bananas on the counter that looked like it was going bad… so I peeled them, mashed them then dumped them into the mix.

And as they were cooking on the stove, I saw the remains of some chocolate chips left over from long ago.  I started sprinkling the chips on the pancakes.

Lo and behold.  The pancakes were such a big hit, the little girl asked for the same thing for breakfast the next day!  I had to rush out to buy more bananas!

(Smile)

Here’s the recipe:

2 cups flour, sifted
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
2 to 4 tablespoons sugar (I used just 2 tablespoons)
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 medium eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1/4 cup butter, melted

2 pieces over-ripe bananas, mashed
pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg
chocolate chips, as desired

Mix the dry ingredients together, then mix the wet ingredients together. Mix together dry and wet ingredients just until mixed. Add the mashed bananas. Do not overmix.

Cook on a griddle as you would regular pancakes. Sprinkle on some chocolate chips while you’re at it!

Then enjoy!

Comments are closed.