Upside Down Apple Cake

The usual upside down cake is pineapple, and that’s the kind I made when I was younger but my favorite these days is apple!

My first attempt at it (it was not pretty at all!) –

A look at a slice –

And I really love this cake!

I followed the recipe for the pineapple upside down apple cake in this book (image courtesy of google images) –

The recipe is also online here

Basically I followed the recipe, except…

1. I used 2 smaller pans instead of 1 big pan
2. I used all the schmear in the 2 smaller pans (it’s really delicious, but I might have over done it, seriously…).
3. I sprinkled apple pie spice over the “schmear” before putting in apple slices.

By the way, I used Fuji apples… and they were still crunchy even after baking!

The recipe (and hence, the cake) was absolutely spectacular! A tad bit sweet for me but otherwise, super yummy!!! So from now on, this is my go-to upside down cake recipe!

 

 

Comments are closed.